Monday, 29 June 2020
Sorry for the long time between posts... been busy...
In between the new normal of working from home, I've been upgrading the sim rig... after the frustration of GTSport daily races, I am now on a PC and enjoying https://www.assettocorsa.net/competizione/ (ACC), which yes is now available on the PS4 (but limited to 30FPS). Along side the PC I have just this weekend got my Dash working (Using SimHub, Arduino and lots of hot glue)...
Monday, 8 June 2020
And now for something completely different...
Well not that different... watched Ford VS Ferrari the other night, so decided to see if I have access to the classic cars and track.


It turns out that Project Cars 2 has "the Spirit of Le Mans" DLC and it is on sale at the moment... Job done, well almost. It's setup for the 1971 version of the track and the Ferrari / Porsche are the main contenders. There is a GT40 MK IV so it's close enough to the correct era to give it a try.
My first attempt was the GT40 at modern Le Mans, with thunderstorms, x 25 time and 1 hour race... disaster is an understatement... aquaplaning into the wall left and right... So anyway... going to do some practice, not decided on GT40 or one of the other cars yet. Plan is to do a 2.4 hour x 10 race against the AI maybe Friday night ( so about a week before the real one should have happened June 19/20)
This weekend will be the 50th Anniversary of the 1970 LeMans race, so a fitting homage to the classic endurance racing of the 1960/70s era (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1970_24_Hours_of_Le_Mans)
Saturday, 6 June 2020
I'm done with GT Sport Daily Races!
I know that I am not the quickest or most consistent driver out there, but I try to drive as well as I can and avoid hitting or hindering others during a race. This is not how to maintain or improve your driver rating in GT Sport, you have to "play" the system, ensuring that the people you hit get the penalty and the offender drives off into the distance as you recover from being spun out into the weeds.
For now I have no intention of wasting my time and effort to be forced off the track by someone who does not care how they drive. Ok they maybe faster than me and the races are short so not long to line up to pass, but as I am not enjoying it, all I can do is find other online races or revert to AI.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

